Ypres elected as best BRC round 2017

Ypres elected as best BRC round 2017From Rally Ypres [ 28/11/2017 ].
Click to read all other Rally Rally News.

This weekend the end of the British Rally Championship 2017 was celebrated in true festive fashion in Manchester. For the first time this season the Ypres Rally had, as first ever foreign competition ever, the pleasure of being part of the British Rally Championship. And the love was obviously reciprocal seeing the Ypres Rally was exceptionally welcome in the BRC. The first successful collaboration offered up a brilliant and unexpected Award: the Ypres Rally was elected as best BRC event of 2017.

Last season the Ypres Rally left the ERC, but in its place it took on a BRC round, namely "BRC2". The Ypres Rally counted both towards the Belgian as also the British Rally Championship. It produced an unbelievably strong field, both in the R5 category as in the younger R2. On top of that the atmosphere between the teams was outstanding, with camaraderie and an enormous amount of mutual respect. Keith Cronin, who as winner of the BRC round received the Tony Pond Trophy from the hands of Fred Gallagher, had made a decisive step in Ypres towards his fourth British rally title.

In Manchester the 60th anniversary of the British Rally Championship was celebrated. For many young upcoming rally drivers the BRC was the springboard to the World Rally Championship. As such many stalwarts were present at the gala, such as Ari Vatanen, Malcolm Wilson, David Richards, immy McRae and Russell Brookes.

"For me the BRC is pure boyhood memories," Alain Penasse commented, who received the Award on behalf of SuperStage. "In those days the British Championship was the absolute reference. The Championship captured the imagination and was a stepping stone for young drivers, such as Hannu Mikkola, Per Eklund, Stig Blomqvist and Ari Vatanen. The BRC is quite clearly once again on the rise. With the Wales Rally GB as the season's closing round the BRC is well on the way to emulating the brilliance of the old days. And we are obviously delighted to be a part of the British Championship from the 21st though to 23rd June 2018! "