Marijan Griebel wins German title!

Marijan Griebel wins German title!From Peugeot Press / Chris Biewer [ 22/10/2018 ].
Click to read all other Rally Rally News.

Marijan Griebel (29 / Hahnweiler) and co-driver Alex Rath (34 / Trier) have made it! The Peugeot team are the new German rally champions. Great joy at the PEUGEOT ROMO team: A secure drive to 2nd place in the ADAC 3-Städte-Rallye handed the title of 2018 German Rally Champions to Marijan Griebel and co-driver Alex Rath. The 3-Städte was the season finale. At first the Peugeot duo delivered an exciting split-seconds battle with Dominik Dinkel (Škoda), but at half point of the rally they deliberately took it a bit more careful to secure the 2nd place. The result was enough to get the points needed to win the championship.

"The rally was not easy for us, because we could almost only lose," Marijan Griebel describes the special challenge to start as championship leader into the last rally of the season. "But we could rely on our team and our Peugeot 208 T16 again, and now I'm overjoyed to win the title."

After a difficult start to the season, the PEUEGOT ROMO team had demonstrated an impressive fighting spirit in recent months and paved the way for the championship with a series of three victories in a row. "We were almost hopelessly back at half time of the season, but we never gave up and worked hard, so I'm especially happy for Peugeot and our team boss Ronald Leschhorn," said Marijan Griebel.

Steffen Raschig, Managing Director of Peugeot Germany, was equally proud of the performance of the Lion brand: "What a great success for the whole PEUGEOT ROMO team! We have proven a strong team spirit this season and this result is the deserved reward for all the efforts! Congratulations everyone!"

The ADAC 3-Städte Rallye was rounded off by another strong performance of Roman Schwedt (19 / Heusweiler). The Peugeot youngster, together with his co-driver Christoph Gerlich (31 / Niederwiesa) scored 3rd place again in a German Championship round, despite driving the older 207 S2000 model. And 3rd was as well Roman Schwedt's reward in the final German Championship standings. Again congratulations!

German Rally Championship final standings:
1st - Marijan Griebel / Alex Rath, Peugeot 208 T16 - 166 points
2nd - Dominik Dinkel / Christina Fürth, Skoda Fabia R5 - 162
3rd - Roman Schwedt / Christoph Gerlich, Peugeot 207 S2000 - 110
4th - Christian Riedemann / Michael Wenzel, Skoda Fabia R5 - 83