Successful shakedown for OMV

Successful shakedown for OMVFrom Citroen Press [ 25/08/2005 ].
Click to read all other Citroen Citroen News.

The OMV ADAC Rallye began this morning with the shakedown near Lake Bostal. Both OMV World Rally Team’s were able to finish this operating test successfully. Difficult weather conditions brought valuable informations on dry and wet sectors for drivers and team. Conditions that are predicted for the OMV ADAC Rally as well.

A lot of work for mechanics at shakedown
When Manfred Stohl approached the start of the 3,18 kilometres long shakedown near Lake Bostal the Kronos Racing Team had been prepared for dry conditions. But just as the start was greenlighted torrential rain set in. Therefore it became extremely difficult to keep the Citroen Xsara WRC on the road. At the second of five turns rain tyres were used but afterwards the generator had to be replaced at the service zone. From the third turn on a set-up for wet conditions was applied which made the remaining turns much faster and safer. Normally I prefer rain to extremely dry conditions on tarmac. But here at the OMV ADAC Rallye I’d rather have a dry surface. The rally itself will be taough going. I expect a lot of Francois Duval (Citroen) as well as from Frenchman Nicolas Bernardi (Peugeot). But just like last year the winner will probably be Sebastian Loeb once again“, esplains OMV driver Manfred Stohl.

Gathering a lot of experience
For Xavier Pons today’s shakedown was a day to gain experience. All in all the Spaniard did four turns: „During the first turn we had dry conditions but then heavy rain set in. The changing conditions were extremely difficult and dangerous but I learned a lot about our car’s road performance. That is what the OMV ADAC Rallye is about to me: to gain knowledge. My professed goal is to reach the top ten.“

Shakedown results:

1. Francois Duval (Citroen), 1,49.3 minutes
2. Stephane Sarrazin (Subaru) 1:49.7
3. Petter Solberg (Subaru) 1:50.3
4. Marcus Grönholm (Peugeot) 1:51,1
5. Markko Märtin (Peugeot) 1:51,2
6. Armin Schwarz (Skoda) 1:51,6
7. Gigi Galli (Mitsubishi) 1:52,1
8. Sebastien Loeb (Citroen) 1:52,2
14. Stepan Vojtech (Peugeot) 2:05,9
15. Manfred Stohl (Citroen) 2:06,5
19. Xavier Pons (Citroen) 2:09,9